Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate of the Working Group on Communications - ACHPR/Res.538 (LXXIII) 2022


The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 73rdOrdinary Session, held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 20 October to 9 November 2022:


Recalling its mandate of promotion and protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (African Charter); 


Noting its protection mandate which involves the consideration of Communications alleging human rights violations against State Parties to the African Charter, pursuant to Articles 47 and 55 of the African Charter;


Noting its Resolution ACHPR/Res.194 (L) 11 adopted at its 50th Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 24 October to 5 November 2011 establishing a Working Group on Communications  (Working Group) and appointing its Members;


Noting also its Resolution ACHPR/Res.212 (EXT.OS/XI) 2012 adopted at its 11th Extra-Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 21 February to 1 March 2012 defining the mandate of the Working Group;


Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.255 (LII) 2012 on the extension of the mandate and modification of the composition of the Working Group adopted at its 52nd Ordinary Session held from 9 to 22 October 2012 in Yamoussoukro, Côte d’Ivoire;


Also Recalling its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.255 (LIV) 2013 and ACHPR/Res.314 (LVII) 2015 on the renewal of the mandate of the Working Group for two-year periods;


Further recalling Resolutions ACHPR/Res.385 (LXI) 2017 and ACHPR/Res.502 (LXIX) 2021 on the Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Working Group;


Recalling Resolution ACHPR/Res.425 (LXV) 2019 which renewed the mandate of all its Special Mechanisms, including the Working Group for a period of six (6) months, with effect from 10 November 2019;


Recognising the importance of the work of the Working Group;


Noting with satisfaction the work done by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner Marie-Louise Abomo and all the former chairpersons in the discharge of its mandate;


Considering that the mandate of the Chairperson and the Members of the Working Group has come to an end;


Bearing in mind the Standard Operating Procedures on the Special Mechanisms of the Commission (the SOPs on Special Mechanisms) adopted at its 27th Extraordinary Session held from 19 February to 4 March 2020 in Banjul, The Gambia;

Noting in particular the guidelines set out in the SOPs on Special Mechanisms, including the general roles and responsibilities of mandate holders, the composition of the mechanisms, the appointment of members and the duration of their mandate as well as the code of conduct for mandate holders;

Further noting the decisions taken during this 73rd Ordinary Session regarding the allocation of responsibilities among the Commissioners;


Decides to renew the mandate of all the following members of the Working Group for a period of two (2) years, effective from 9 November 2022:
1. Commissioner Marie-Louise Abomo, Chairperson;
2. Commissioner Maria Teresa Manuela, Vice-Chairperson;
3. Commissioners Solomon Ayele Dersso and Idrissa Sow, Members.

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 9 November 2022