Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate of the Working Group on the Rights of Older Persons and Persons with Disabilities in Africa and on the Appointment of its Chairperson and Members - ACHPR/Res. 458 (LXVI) 2020


The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 66th Ordinary Session, held virtually from 13 July to 7 August 2020:

Recalling its mandate of promotion and protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (African Charter); 

Recalling that the African Charter makes specific provisions for the protection of these rights, under Article 18 (4), which stipulates that “the aged and the disabled shall also have the right to special measures of protection in keeping with their physical or moral needs”;

Also recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.118 (XXXXII), on the Appointment of a Focal Point on the Rights of Older Persons in Africa, that was adopted at the 42nd Ordinary Session, held from 15 to 28 November 2007 in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo;

Further recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.143 (XXXXV) 09 transforming the Focal Point on the Rights of Older Persons in Africa into a Working Group on the Rights of Older Persons and People with Disabilities in Africa (the Working Group);

Considering the mandate assigned to the Working Group, and its assignment to facilitate the process of drafting the Protocol on Ageing, ensuring compliance by State Parties with the recommendations contained in the AU Policy Framework and Plan of Action on Ageing;

Further recalling its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.250 (LIV) 2013, ACHPR/Res.312 (LVII) 2015, ACHPR/Res.392(LXI)2017 and ACHPR/Res.425(LXV)2019, which have throughout time given the legal framework for the existence and operation of the Working Group;

Considering that during its 19th Extraordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 16 to 25 February 2016, the Commission decided to assign the drafting process of the Protocol to the African Charter on the Rights of Citizens to Social Protection and Social Security, to the Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights and the Working Group on the Rights of Older Persons and People with Disabilities in Africa in accordance with the said AU Executive Council decision;

Also considering that under the leadership of the Working Group, the Commission has finalised the drafting process of the Protocol on the Rights of Older Persons in Africa and the Protocol on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, which have yet to come into force for lack of the minimum threshold of ratifications required following their respective adoption by the African Union at the 26th  African Union Summit (21 to 31 January 2016 in Addis Ababa) and during the 30th  Summit (22 to 29 January 2018 in Addis Ababa);

Further considering the Standard Operating Procedures on the Special Mechanisms of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights adopted by the Commission at its 27th Extraordinary Session held from 19th  February to 4th March 2020;

Noting with appreciation the work done by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner Yeung Kam John Yeung Sik Yuen since his appointment on 28 November 2007;

Considering that the two-year mandate of the Chairperson and other Expert Members of the Working Group has come to an end;

Noting that in view of the need to reconstitute the Working Group’s membership, a call for applications of Expert Members for the Working Group was announced and selections were made from the applications received;

Considering the need to allow the Working Group on the Rights of Older Persons and People with Disabilities to continue to carry out its mandate and to address urgent related matters;

Decides to:

  1. Appoint Commissioner Marie Louise Abomo as Chairperson of the Working Group for a period of two years as from 1st July 2020;
  2. Appoint for the same period Commissioner Maya Sahli-Fadel as Vice-Chairperson of the Working Group;
  3. Appoint for the same period Commissioner Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie as member of the Working Group;
  4. Appoint for the same period the following Expert Members:

-          Mr Dube Kudakwashe (Southern Africa);

-          Professor Pascal Touoyem (Central Africa);

-          Ms Deborah Grace Awulira Mukhwana Wangusa (Eastern Africa);

-          Maître Saddam Hussein Meddeber (Northern Africa)  ; and

-          Mr Mawuko Anani A. Ekuhoho (Western Africa). 


Done virtually, 07 August 2020