Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Committee on Resolutions - ACHPR/Res. 465 (LXVI) 2020


The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 66th Ordinary Session, held virtually from 13 July to 7 August 2020:

Recalling its mandate of promotion and protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (African Charter); 

Considering Rule 23(1) of its Rules of Procedure which stipulates that the “Commission may create subsidiary mechanisms such as special rapporteurs, committees, and working groups”;

Recalling the importance of the resolutions adopted by the Commission in taking into consideration human rights situations on the continent towards formulating guidance and recommendations on the promotion and protection of the rights guaranteed by the African Charter;

Further recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.338 (LVIII) 16 on the establishment of the Committee on Resolutions adopted at its 58th Ordinary Session held from 6 to 20 April 2016 in Banjul, The Gambia;

Recalling equally its Resolution ACHPR/Res. 390(LXI) 2017 on the Appointment of the Chairperson, Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Committee on Resolutions;

Considering that the mandate of the Chairperson and the members of the Committee on Resolutionshas come to an end;

Recognizing the importance of the Committee on Resolutions and the need to allow the Committee on Resolutions to continue to carry out its mandate;

Bearing in mind the Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) relating to its Special Mechanisms adopted during its 27th Extra-Ordinary Session held from 19 February to 4 March 2020, in Banjul, The Gambia;

Noting in particular, guidance provided by the SOPS on the working modalities of Special Mechanisms, general roles and responsibilities of mandate holders, the composition, appointment, tenure and conduct of mandate holders;

Noting the Final Communiqué of the 28th Extraordinary Session held from 29 June to 1 July 2020 wherein responsibilities were assigned to Commissioners;

Decides to:

  1. Renew the mandate ofCommissioner Jamesina E.L. Kingas Chairperson of the Committee on Resolutions for a period of 2 years with effect from 01 July 2020;
  2. Appointfor the same period Commissioner Rémy Ngoy Lumbu as Vice-Chairperson of the Committee on Resolutions;
  3. Renew the mandate of Commissioners Solomon Ayele Dersso and Hatem Essaiem as Members of the Committee on Resolutions for the same period;
  4. AppointCommissioner Marie Louise Abomo as member of the Committee on Resolutions for the same period.


Done virtually, 07 August 2020