Resolution on the Appointment of the Chairperson and Members of the Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in Africa - ACHPR/Res.124(XXXXII)07


The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Commission or ACHPR) meeting at its 42nd Ordinary Session held from 14 – 28 November 2007, in Brazzaville, the Republic of Congo:

Recalling its mandate to promote human and peoples’ rights and ensure their protection in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Charter);

Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.73 (XXXVI)04 to establish a Working Group on Economic and Social Rights taken at its 36th Ordinary Session, held from 23 November - 7 December 2004 in Dakar, Senegal, and which also defined its mandate;

Noting with appreciation the work and accomplishment of members of the Working Group: Sanji Mmasenono Monageng, Yasser Sid Ahmed El-Hassan, and Mohamed Abdellahi Ould Babana;

Considering that the term of the Working Group came to an end on 14 November 2007;

Decides to appoint Commissioner Angela Melo as Chairperson of the Working Group on Economic and Social Rights in Africa for a period of two years, effective 28 November 2007.

And further appoints the following members for the same period of time,

Commissioner Dupe Atoki – member

Mr Ibrahima Kane – member (renewal)


Done in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo, 28 November 2007.