Swaziland: 1st Periodic Report, 1995-2000


1. The Kingdom of Swaziland is a small landlocked country bordered by South Africa on the North, West and Southern part, by Mozambique on the eastern part. Swaziland has a Monarch who is also Head of State. His Majesty Mswati III. He rules in consultation with Cabinet and a twoChamber Parliament made up of the Senate and House of Assembly. There are other advisory structures which handle and advise on matters of culture., tradition and custom or any other matters referred to them by the King.

2. The Kingdom of Swaziland is made up of four regions, administered by Regional Administrators and Regional Secretaries. The Central Government Ministries -are represented in the Regional Administrative structures. The smallest administrative structure is called the local Government constituency (Inkhundla) which forms an important link between regions and communities. There are 55 such Tinkhundla responsible for political and socioeconomic development, in the country each covers a number of chiefdoms.