Resolution on the Appointment of the Chairperson and the Renewal of Membership of the Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in Africa - ACHPR/Res.147(XLVI)09


The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Commission) meeting at its 46th Ordinary Session held from 11 – 25 November 2009, in Banjul, The Gambia:

Recalling its mandate to promote human and peoples’ rights and ensure their protection in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Charter);

Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.73 (XXXVI)04 to establish a Working Group on Economic and Social Rights taken at its 36th Ordinary Session, held from 23 November - 7 December 2004 in Dakar, Senegal, and which also defined its mandate;

Recalling further Resolution ACHPR/Res.124(XXXXII)07 adopted at its 42nd Ordinary Session held from 14 – 28 November 2007, in Brazzaville, the Republic of Congo to renew the mandate of the Working Group;

Bearing in mind that Commissioner Catherine Dupe Atoki led the Working Group from 2008 to 2009 as Acting Chairperson;

Noting with appreciation the work and accomplishment of members of the Working Group through the finalization of the Principles and Guidelines on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in Africa, which is the first part of its mandate;

Considering that the term of the Acting Chairperson of the Working Group Commissioner Catherine Dupe Atoki came to an end on 25 November 2009;

Decides to appoint Commissioners Mohamed Bechir Khalfallah and Commissioner Soyata Maiga respectively as Chairperson and member of the Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in Africa for a period of two years, effective 25 November 2009;

And further reappoints the following members for the same period of time:

  • Mr Ibrahima Kane (OSISA), Member
  • INTERIGHTS, Member
  • Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa, Member
  • Centre for Human Rights of the University of Pretoria, Member

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 25 November 2009.