Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Working Group on Specific Issues related to the Work of the Commission - ACHPR/Res.530 (LXXIII) 2022


The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 73rd Ordinary Session, held from 21 October to 9 November 2022 in Banjul, The Gambia:

Recalling its mandate of promotion and protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (African Charter); 

Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.77 (XXXVII) 05 on the establishment of a Working Group on Specific Issues Related to the Work of the Commission (Working Group) adopted at its 37th Ordinary Session;

Mindful of its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.80(XXXVIII)05, ACHPR/Res.127(XXXXII)07, ACHPR/Res.150 (XLVI)09, ACHPR/Res.280 (LV) 2014, ACHPR/Res.311 (LVII) 2015, and ACHPR/Res. 389(LXI) 2017 on the Renewal of the Mandate and Composition of the Working group;

Recalling its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.233 (EXT.OS/XIII)13 and ACHPR/Res. 328 (EXT.OS/XIX) 2016 reconstituting the Working Group and modifying its mandate and composition;

Further recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res. 463 (LXVI) 2020 on the Appointment of the Chairperson, Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Working Group;

Noting with appreciation the work done by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner Marie-Louise Abomo and its former Chairpersons in the discharge of its mandate;

Considering that the mandate of the Chairperson and the members of the Working Group has come to an end;

Recognizing the importance of the Working Group and the need to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

Bearing in mind the Standard Operating Procedures on the Special Mechanisms of the Commission (the SOPs on Special Mechanisms) adopted at its 27th Extraordinary Session held from 19 February to 4 March 2020 in Banjul, The Gambia;

Noting in particular the guidelines set out in the SOPs on Special Mechanisms, including the general roles and responsibilities of mandate holders, the composition of the mechanisms, the appointment of members and the duration of their mandate as well as the code of conduct for mandate holders;

Further noting the decisions taken during this 73rd Ordinary Session regarding the allocation of responsibilities among the Commissioners;


Decides to:
1. Renew the mandate of Commissioner Marie Louise Abomo as Chairperson of the Working Group for a period of 2 years with effect from 9 November 2022;
2. Appoint for the same period Commissioner Litha Musyimi-Ogana as Vice-Chairperson of the Working Group;
3. Renew the mandate of Commissioners Solomon Ayele Dersso as Member of the Working Group for the same period.

 Done in Banjul, 9 November 2022