Final Communiqué of the 32nd Extra-Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights


12 May 2021

1.The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (“the Commission”) held its 32nd Extra-Ordinary Session (“the Session”) on 12 May 2021, virtually, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

2.The Session was initially chaired by Honourable Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso, Chairperson of the Commission, assisted by Honourable Commissioner Rémy Ngoy Lumbu, Vice-Chairperson.

3.The Chairperson excused himself from the Session, and handed the facilitation of the Discussions to the Vice-Chair.

4.The following Members of the Commission participated in the Session:

i.Honourable Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso; Chairperson
ii.Honourable Commissioner Rémy Ngoy Lumbu; Vice Chairperson
iii.Honourable Commissioner Maya Sahli-Fadel;
iv.Honourable Commissioner Jamesina Essie L. King;
v.Honourable Commissioner Hatem Essaiem; 
vi.Honourable Commissioner Maria Teresa Manuela;
vii.Honourable Commissioner Alexia Gertrude Amesbury.
viii.Honourable Commissioner Mudford Zachariah Mwandenga; and
ix.Honourable Commissionner Marie Louise Abomo.

5.The Commission considered and adopted its agenda, without any amendments.

6.The Commission considered and adopted the Resolution on investigation into the human rights situation in the Tigray.

Done this 12th day of May 2021