Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters - ACHPR/Res.313(LVII)2015


The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 57th Ordinary Session held from 4 to 18 November 2015 in Banjul, The Gambia;


Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples’ rights in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Charter);


Conscious of the essential role played by the Secretariat in ensuring the effective implementation of the mandate of the Commission and the importance of having an efficient Secretariat;


Further conscious of the difficulties faced by the Commission in the preparation, presentation and execution of its budget, and desirous of facilitating its budgetary preparation process;


Welcoming the decision of the Executive Council of the African Union (AU) to strengthen the human resources capacity of the Commission by recruiting 33 new staff members over a period of five years from 2010 to 2014;


Recalling the decision of its 6th Extraordinary Session to establish an Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters in order to assist the Secretariat in preparing the programmes budget of the Commission;


Further recalling AU Executive Council Decision EX.CL/Dec.529 (XV) by which the African Union Commission, in consultation with the Permanent Representatives’ Committee (PRC), is required to expedite the review of the honorarium and allowances of the members of the Commission in accordance with AU financial rules and regulations;


Bearing in mind its Resolution ACHPR/Res.142 (XXXXV) 09 adopted at its 45th Ordinary Session establishing an Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters; 


Mindful of its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.191 (L) 11 and ACHPR/Res.256 (CCLVI) 13 adopted respectively at its 50th and 54th Ordinary Sessions on the renewal and expansion of the mandate of the Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters;


Noting with appreciation the work undertaken during the past two years by the Committee under the leadership of Commissioner Med Kaggwa;


Considering that the mandate of the Chairperson and the members of the Committee has come to an end;


Recognising the importance of the Committee and the need to allow the Committee to continue to carry out its mandate; 


Decides to:


Re-appoint Commissioner Med Kaggwa as the Chairperson of the Committee for a period of 2 years as from 5 November 2015;

Renew for the same period the mandates of Commissioner Reine Alapini Gansou  and Commissioner Soyata Maiga as members of the Committee; and

Appoint Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso as a member of the Committee for the same period.


Adopted at the 57th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 4 to 18 November 2015