Resolution on Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Working Group on Extractive Industries, Environment and Human Rights Violations in Africa - ACHPR/Res. 459 (LXVI) 2020


The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 66th Ordinary Session, held virtually from 13 July to 7 August 2020:

Recalling its mandate of promotion and protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (African Charter); 

Aware that in the exercise of its mandate, the Commission has established various mechanisms for the promotion and protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa;

Recalling in this regard, theStandard Operating Procedures on the Special Mechanisms of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, adopted by its 27th Extra-Ordinary Session, held from 19 February to 4 March 2020, in Banjul, The Gambia;

Bearing in mind specifically, Articles 21 and 24 of the African Charter, on the right of all peoples to freely dispose of their wealth and natural resources, and to a generally satisfactory environment favourable to their development;

Recalling its previous Resolutions on the need for an improved protection of human rights and the environment, especially through improving the regulatory framework for the activities of the extractive industries, developing effective continental mechanisms for monitoring the human rights impact of the activities of the extractive industries and the development of jurisprudence on holding non-state actors accountable for human rights violations in Africa;

Recalling in particularResolution ACHPR/Res.148(XLVI) 2009, establishing the Working Group on Extractive Industries, Environment and Human Rights Violations in Africa (the Working Group) which further mandated the Working Group to prepare a comprehensive report on extractive industries on the continent, which work is ongoing;

Recalling further Resolution ACHPR/Res.236 (LIII) 2013 on the Illicit Flight of Capital from Africa, Resolution ACHPR/Res.271 (LV) 2014 on Climate Change in Africa and Resolution ACHPR/Res. 364(LIX) 2016 on Developing Reporting Guidelines with Respect to the Extractive Industries by which the Commission has tasked the Working Group with additional responsibilities;

Noting with satisfaction the work accomplished by the Working Group up-to-date;

Recognizing the importance of the Working Group and the need to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

Recalling Resolutions ACHPR/Res.321(LVII)2015, ACHPR/Res. 353 (EXT.OS/XX) 2016, ACHPR/Res.386(LXI)2017 and ACHPR/Res.425(LXV)2019 relating to the mandate and composition of the Working Group;

Noting that the mandate of the Working Group and its Members came to an end on 10 May 2020 and that in view of the need to reconstitute the Working Group’s membership, a call for applications of Expert Members for the Working Group was announced and selections were made from the applications received;

Noting the Final Communiqué of the 28th Extraordinary Session held from 29 June to 1 July 2020 wherein responsibilities were assigned to Commissioners;

Appreciating the work done by the outgoing Expert Members of the Working Group during their terms;

Decides to:

  1. Extend the mandate of the Working Group for a period of two (2) years from 01 July 2020;
  2. Renew the mandate of Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso as Chairperson of the Working Group, as well as Commissioner Rémy Ngoy Lumbu as a Member for the same period as applicable;
  3. Appoint Commissioner Mudford Zachariah Mwandengaas Vice-Chairperson of the Working Group for the same period;
  4. Appoint the following Expert Members for the same period:

-       Ms. Seynabou Benga(West Africa)

-       Prof. Damilola Sunday Olawuyi (West Africa)

-       Prof. Georges-Ivo E Ekosse (Central Africa)

-       Dr. Evelyn Happy Katono(East Africa)

-       Mr. Brigadier Siachitema(Southern Africa)


Done virtually, 07 August 2020