Resolution on the Appointment of the Chairperson, Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Working Group on Specific Issues related to the Work of the Commission - ACHPR/Res.389(LXI)2017


The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the Commission) meeting at its 61st Ordinary Session held from 1 to 15 November 2017, in Banjul, The Gambia:

Considering its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples’ rights in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Charter);

Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.77 (XXXVII) 05 on the establishment of a Working Group on Specific Issues Related to the Work of the Commission (Working Group) adopted at its 37th Ordinary Session;

Mindful of its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.80(XXXVIII)05, ACHPR/Res.127(XXXXII)07, ACHPR/Res.150 (XLVI)09,  ACHPR/Res.280 (LV) 2014, and ACHPR/Res.311 (LVII) 2015 on the Renewal of the Mandate and Composition of the Working group;

Further recalling its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.233 (EXT.OS/XIII)13 and ACHPR/Res. 328 (EXT.OS/XIX) 2016 reconstituting the Working Group and modifying its mandate and composition;

Noting with appreciation the work undertaken by the Advisory Committee under the leadership of Commissioner Faith Pansy Tlakula;

Considering that the mandate of the Chairperson and the members of the Advisory Committee has come to an end;

Recognizing the importance of the Working Group and the need to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

Decides to:

i.              Appoint Commissioner Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie as Chairperson of the Working Group for a period of 2 years with effect from 15 November 2017;

ii.            Renew the mandate of Commissioner Soyata Maiga as a Member of the Working Group for the same period; and

iii.           Appoint the following Commissioners as members of the working Group for the same period:

-       Commissioner Maya Sahli Fadel;

-       Commissioner Lawrence Murugu Mute; and

-       Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso.

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 15 November 2017