Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate of Expert Members of the Working Group on Extractive Industries, Environment and Human Rights Violations in Africa - ACHPR/Res.215(LI)2012


The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Commission), meeting at its 51st Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia from 18 April to 2 May 2012;

Underscoring its mandate to promote human and peoples’ rights and ensure their protection in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Charter);

Recalling all relevant regional and international human rights instruments and, specifically Articles 21 and 24 of the African Charter on the rights of all peoples to freely dispose of their wealth and natural resources, and to a general satisfactory environment favorable to their development;

Recalling Resolution ACHPR/Res148(XLVI)09adopted at the 46th Ordinary Session, held from 11 to 25 November 2009, in Banjul, The Gambia, on the Establishment of a Working Group on Extractive Industries, Environment and Human Rights Violations in Africa (the Working Group);

Recalling Further Resolution ACHPR/Res Res198(L)2011, adopted at the 50th Ordinary Session, held from 24 October to 5 November 2011, in Banjul, The Gambia, appointing the Chairperson of the Working Group for an initial period of two years;

Recognizing that the success of the Working Group depends on significant support from its members, including their expertise to achieve its specific mandate;

Noting that the mandate of the members of the Working Group ended on 5 November 2011;

Decides to renew the mandate of the Expert Members of the Working Group:

       i.          Ms. Valérie Couillard

       ii.          Mr. Clément Nyaletsossi Voulé

       iii.          Mr. Samuel Nguiffo

       iv.          Professor James Thuo Gathii

        v.          Professor Danny Bradlow


      Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 2 May 2012