Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate of the Working Group on Communications - ACHPR/Res.255(LIV)2013


The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (The Commission), meeting at its 54th Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 22 October to 5 November 2013;

Recognizing its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples’ rights under the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Charter);

Noting its protection mandate which involves the consideration of Communications alleging human rights violations against State Parties to the African Charter, pursuant to Articles 47 and 55 of the African Charter;

Noting Resolution ACHPR/RES.194 (L) 11, adopted during its 50th Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia from 24 October to 5 November 2011 establishing a Working Group on Communications and appointing its members;

Noting also Resolution ACHPR/RES.212 (EXT.OS/XI) 12, adopted during its 11th Extra-Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 21 February to 1 March 2012 defining the mandate of the Working Group on Communications;

Further recalling Resolution ACHPR/RES.255(LII)12 on the extension of the mandate and modification of the composition of the Working Group on Communications, adopted at the 52nd Ordinary Session held from 9 to 22 October 2012 in Yamoussoukro, Côte d’Ivoire;

Further recognizing the importance of the work of the Working Group on Communications;

Noting with satisfaction the work done by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie in her capacity as Chairperson of the Working Group;

Considering that the mandate of the Chairperson and the members of the Working Group comes to an end on 5 November 2013;

Recognizing the importance of the Working Group and the need to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

Decides to:

Appoint Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor as Chairperson of the Working Group for a period of two years, with effect from 5 November 2013;

Renew for the same period the mandate of Commissioner Reine Alapini Gansou and Commissioner Pacifique Manirakiza as members of the Working Group; and

Appoint Commissioner Yeung Kam John Yeung Sik Yuen as a member of the Working group for the same period;

Renew for the same period the mandate of the support team of the Working Group at the Secretariat as follows:

i. The Secretary to the Commission as coordinator of the support team;

ii. Two (2) Senior Legal Officers; and

iii. Two (2) Legal Officers.


Done in Banjul, The Gambia, November 2013