Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate of the Chairperson and the Appointment of Other Member Commissioners of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa - ACHPR/Res. 461 (LXVI) 2020


The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 66th Ordinary Session, held virtually from 13 July to 7 August 2020:

Recalling its mandate of promotion and protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (African Charter); 

Considering the absolute and non-derogable nature of the prohibition of torture and other cruel, inhuman and degrading treatment or punishment guaranteed by Article 5 of the African Charter ;

Recalling its Resolution on Guidelines and Measures for the Prohibition and Prevention of Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment in Africa (Robben Island Guidelines), adopted by its 32nd Ordinary Session, meeting in Banjul, The Gambia, from 17 to 23 October 2002;

Recalling further the establishment in 2004 of the Robben Island Guidelines Follow-up Committee to promote the implementation of the Robben Island Guidelines;

Recalling also Resolution ACHPR/Res158 (XLVI) 09 changing the name of the Follow-up Committee to the Robben Island Guidelines to the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa (the Committee);

Bearing in mind Resolutions ACHPR/Res.120 (XXXXII) 07, ACHPR/Res.192 (L) 2011, ACHPR/Res.254 (LIV) 2013, ACHPR/Res.322(LVII) 2015 and ACHPR/Res.387(LXI) 2017 renewing the mandate of the Committee;

Further bearing in mind Resolution ACHPR/Res.425 (LXV) 2019 on the renewal of the mandates of the Special Mechanisms of the ACHPR, adopted by the 65th Ordinary Session to renew their mandate for a period of six (6) months, with effect from 10 November 2019;

Recalling Resolution ACHPR/Res.426(LXV) 2019 on the Appointment of Expert Members of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa, adopted at the 65th Ordinary Session of the Commission, held from 21 October to 10 November 2019, in Banjul, The Gambia;

Considering the Rules for the Establishment and Functioning of Special Mechanisms of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights, adopted at its 27th Extraordinary Session held from 19 February to 4 March 2020 in Banjul, The Gambia;

Noting with appreciation the work accomplished by the Committee under the leadership of Commissioner Hatem Essaiem since his appointment on 15 November 2017;

Considering that the mandate of the Chairperson and other Commissioners members of the Committee has expired;

Decides to:

  1.  Renewas from 1st July 2020, the mandate of Commissioner Hatem Essaiem as Chairperson of the Committee for a period of two(2) years;
  2.  Renewas from 1st July 2020, the mandate of Commissioner Maria Teresa Manuela for two(2) years and to appoint her as Vice-Chairperson of the Committee; and
  3.  Appointas from 1st July 2020, Commissioner NDiamé Gaye as Member for two (2) years.

Done virtually, 07 August 2020