Resolution on the Appointment of the Chairperson, Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters - ACHPR/Res.388(LXI)2017


The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the Commission) meeting at its 61st Ordinary Session held from 1 to 15 November 2017, in Banjul, The Gambia:

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples’ rights in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Charter);

Aware of the vital role of its Secretariat in ensuring the effective discharge of the mandate of the Commission;

Further conscious of the difficulties the Commission faces in the preparation, presentation and execution of its budget, and desirous of facilitating its budgetary preparation process;

Welcoming the decision of the Executive Council of the African Union (AU) to strengthen the human resource capacity of the Commission, through the recruitment of 33 more staff members over a period of five years from 2010 to 2014;

Recalling its decision taken during the 6th Extra-Ordinary Session to establish an Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters to work with the Secretariat to prepare the Programmes Budget of the Commission;

Further recalling AU Executive Council Decision EX.CL/Dec.529 (XV) by which the African Union Commission (AUC), in consultation with the Permanent Representatives’ Committee (PRC), is required to expedite the review of the honorarium and allowances of the members of the Commission, in accordance with AU financial rules and regulations;

Bearing in mind its Resolution ACHPR/Res 142 (XXXXV) 09, adopted at its 45th Ordinary Session, establishing an Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters;

Mindful of Resolutions ACHPR/Res.191 (L)11, ACHPR/Res.256 (LIV) 2013 and ACHPR/Res.313 (LVII) 2015 on the renewal and expansion of the mandate of the Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters;

Noting with appreciation the work undertaken by the Advisory Committee under the leadership of Commissioner Med Kaggwa;

Considering that the mandate of the Chairperson and the members of the Advisory Committee has come to an end;

Recognizing the importance of the Committee and the need to allow the Committee to continue to carry out its mandate;

Decides to:

i.      Appoint Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso as Chairperson of the Committee for a period of 2 years with effect from 15 November 2017;

ii.     Renew the mandate of Commissioner Soyata Maiga as a Member of the Committee for the same period; and

iii.    Appoint Commissioner Remy Ngoy Lumbu and Commissioner Hatem Essaiem as members of the Committee for the same period.

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 15 November 2017