Liesbeth Zegveld and Mussie Ephrem / Eritrea - 250/02



For the above reasons, the African Commission,

Finds the State of Eritrea in violation of Articles 2, 6, 7(1) and 9(2) of the African Charter;

Urges the State of Eritrea to order the immediate release of the 11 detainees, namely, Petros Solomon, Ogbe Abraha, Haile Woldetensae, Mahmud Ahmed Sheriffo, Berhane Ghebre Eghzabiher, Astier Feshation, Saleh Kekya, Hamid Himid, Estifanos Seyoum, Germano Nati, and Beraki Ghebre Selassie; and

Recommends that the State of Eritrea compensates the above-mentioned persons.

Done at the 34th Ordinary Session of the African Commission held from 6th to 20th November 2003, in Banjul, The Gambia.